Honestly, what is wrong with this guy? What should I do? Should I give him 2 weeks and see where we stand?

I have been talking to this guy for about 8 months, we both live in different states. Now, I was supposed to go see him again the last week of February and he wanted to take me to one of his good friends birthday, and told me to "not show off too much, but to not be Amish either" which pissed me off.
So, I had a family emergency and I couldn't make it, but I told him that I want to come as soon as possible to see him. He recently moved back in with his parents who he does not get along with so I kind of understand that he has been frustrated. But he said he wants to see me but summer would be a better time for me to come. I got pissed because I have been so excited to see him all these months and he wants to prolong it now.
We got into a fight and he said that he's done. I said we should just not contact each other for a while, he agreed. But, I bought him a present and I texted him to see if he got it, he got it the previous day and said "I don't think you have bad handwriting lol, i really like it and the letter was so sweet to read, I haven't received a handwritten letter in over a decade".