Does a divorced guy who mentions his ex-wife a few times on a first date-ready for a LTR?

Met an online guy for coffee a few days ago. Without me asking, he shared his ex-wife’s occupation, ethnicity, and some other detail. His ex and I work in the same field and have the same ethnic background. Not sure why he needed to share this with me? And to boot he shared he has had zero luck meeting someone. I liked him but left thinking maybe he’s not ready?

0|0

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 1

• Most of those things would have been better left unsaid even if he was thinking them. So he certainly didn't display perfect behavior.

My opinion is that if you like him otherwise I wouldn't rule him out yet, but would watch for additional signs that he's not really ready to move on.

It could be that he was thinking that mentioning the similarities between you and his ex-wife was a way to connect with you. I don't understand the comment about having zero luck meeting someone at all though. That seems like something that shouldn't be said at all with a potential new partner.

Have you had contact since that meeting? If so, how has that gone? Did he show interest in meeting you again?

0|0
    0|0
    • Thanks! I too thought why would he share that he has had no luck meeting someone, even if it was true? You are trying to sell yourself. We had a nice, 2+ hour date. He said I was beautiful and looked better in person. I can be reserved at first and so I texted him after we met to tell him I enjoyed chatting with him and inquired about his weekend. Have not heard back. May not hear back.

• Show All