Would you go vegetarian for someone you love?

I'm a vegetarian but my boyfriend is a meat-eater. However, he enjoys the vegetarian meals I cook for him. I am a good cook and I make healthy vegetarian food for him, he really enjoys it. He still eats meat when we go out and I don't like it. If he likes my food, why can't he go vegetarian?
  • Yes
    Vote A
  • No
    Vote B
Select age and gender to cast your vote:
I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|2

Most Helpful Guys

• No, I would not become a vegetarian for my girlfriend, nor would I ask her to become an omnivore. If that was a must for you, you should have discussed it with you boyfriend when you were deciding to become a couple. He probably would have viewed it as a dealbreaker, and that would be a lot to ask of someone.

14|12
    0|0
  • No. I wouldn't. Humans are omnivores. That means it's natural for us to eat meat. You may as well ask if your boyfriend would give up sex, for you: another natural impulse.

It's also much easier to get all the amino acids and nutrients we need when one consumes meat. Yes, one *can* do it purely through vegetables. But it's more difficult to get all the nutrients and vitamins you need. Especially amino acids. Most plants do not have a full amino acid profile. Quinoa is one of the rare exceptions.

The thing about this world is that you are going to be killing and consuming something one way or another. There have been studies done showing that plants have analogous senses to humans. Some can even learn and have some degree of intelligence. One way or another, to exist, you must consume other life.

I do think that it would be best if we find an alternative to meat in the future, so we do not have to. I think the animals should be kept in the best condition possible for a decent life.

Anyway. No. I wouldn't stop eating meat for a woman. It tastes good, it's a great resource for my muscles, and I'm going to be consuming life one way or another.