Should corporal punishment be used to discipline children?

And what environment would it work best in?

• Yes
    Vote A
  • No
    Vote B
Select a gender to cast your vote:
I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I am not going to say I don't understand why a parent might swat a small child, but I was a pre-school teacher and Sunday school teacher and I had to find methods of discipline that did not involve corporal punishment, so I think parents can too.

All the studies show that it breeds violence and mistrust in individuals. It certainly isn't necessary, ever. Though I don't think it's the worst thing on Earth if it happens once in a while, parents should not look for ways to justify it, but rather to avoid it. Here are some articles on it, one from American Psychological Association, one from The National Institutes of Health, and another from menengage. org

https://www.apa.org/monitor/2012/04/spanking.aspx
    www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3447048/
    menengage.org/.../...iveDiscipline_Factsheet_4.pdf

1|3
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Yes, but it has to be carefully administered by HIGHLY-TRAINED professionals who understand how to cause pain, but not injury. There are many techniques like this that can be used to imbue children with superhuman levels of toughness and discipline and focus that will only give them that much of an edge over all their peers.

You know what they do in Scandinavian countries? They leave their newborn babies outside to freeze all night. That's right, look it up. You know why they do that? Because it works.
    https://www.BBC.com/news/magazine-21537988

www.npr.org/.../global-parenting-habits-that-havent-caught-on-in-the-u-s

qz.com/.../