I am really unhappy at my job. How should I approach this with my manager?

I work in retail and when I started at my job, I was given training and became really confident at what I was doing. I was easily managing things and I was outgoing and friendly and chatting to customers. But just recently, out of no where, my manager assigned me to work downstairs all the time, so I never get to work with customers anymore. When I am on the shop floor and a customer approaches me to ask something, my manager glares at me with a scowl as if she’s eaten a lemon and watches me all the time. Then she says to me at the end of my shift ‘I don’t like you working with customers because you don’t have the selling technique that everyone else has, and this is a business’

so I am now constantly assigned to work downstairs on my own unpacking boxes whilst all the other workers are at the top and it is really affecting my confidence. When I am allowed on the shop floor, I act confident and smile and approach customers and I feel like I am doing a good job, yet my manager watches me all the time so it makes me feel nervous and then usually tells me to go back downstairs.

i have tried talking to her about it and she has told me that she thinks it is best for me. I just want to talk to customers though because when I signed up for the job, that is what I thought I would be doing.

how should I approach this situation?

0|0

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 15

• Is there another manager you can talk to? And what do your coworkers think. Do you actually throw in some up sale phrases/lines at customers in and out of conversations? There are too many holes to really judge the situation.

If you want to keep the job then you'll have to understand how the company works and get to know as many people as you can so you can get as much information as possible. People gossip, and it becomes useful information.