Have you read the Odyssey?

I'm reading it for my classical studies class atm. It's a pretty good plot line, although it tends to get side tracked easily and the language sometimes makes it harder to understand. My teacher recommended reading it twice but I don't know if I have the time for that tbh.

if you're read it, what did you think of it?

0|1

Most Helpful Guy

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm an ancient history student so I have the Odyssey imprinted on my brain 😂 It's a great story though I prefer the Iliad.

1|0
    0|0

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 18

• I seen the movie but never read the book.

1|0
    0|0
  • I'd hate to be the "best" men on his ship since the best ones are always the ones that seem to die in his crew.

I thought it was okay. I enjoyed the Illiad more.

1|0
    0|0
  • I think I read that in school, but I don't remember much about it. I have 'I, Claudius', and it's pretty good.

1|0
    0|0
  • Ten years after the fall of Troy, the victorious Greek hero Odysseus has still not returned to his native Ithaca. A band of rowdy suitors, believing Odysseus to be dead, has overrun his palace, courting his faithful -- though weakening -- wife, Penelope, and going through his stock of food.

www.gradesaver.com/the-odyssey/study-guide/summary read summary here...

0|0
    0|0
  • I read parts of it when I was in high school. I thought it was pretty cool, but it definitely depends on the person. A lot of people in my class hated it. I also struggled a lot with the language

1|0
    0|0
  • i really liked it ^^ it's one of the most Classic stories and many books nowadays are based on it, or on the type of story

1|0
    0|0
  • Yes. It's not one of my favorites.

1|0
    0|0
  • I have

1|0
    0|0
  • I read it freshman year of highschool. The entire plot is sidetracking lmao. Good book

1|0
    0|0
  • I have and the Illiad as well.

1|0
    0|0
  • I read it in my teens, it's a very good story

1|0
    0|0
  • Yup I've read it, I liked it.

0|0