What are people’s reasons for loving Modern Art?

I know there’s many reasons for producing art. Some do it for beauty, meaning, expression, or simply for the craft. But Modern art.. eh I just don’t understand why people are willing make it and for others to pay millions of dollars for this kind of art. I can see someone paying like $50 for a painting to hang on their wall, but MILLIONS? Especially for the art below.

Now, I know some of you will say in defense that “It’s not about whether or not a child could do it, but that it was created. You could’ve done it, but you didn’t.” or “It’s original and breaks from the usual art”

But as an artist, I find it insulting to see simple and “original” pieces, such as those below, displayed in museums. The pieces mock the 15 years of hard effort I put into improving my artistic abilities. What’s the point of spending so much time into drawing and going to art school if someone with no skills whatsoever can bullshit their art into a museum? Please explain to me why this is so.

“Royal Red and Blue”
$75.1 million

Fountain by Marcel Duchamp
$1,762,500

My Bed by Tracey Emins
$3.77 millionWhat are people’s reasons for loving Modern Art?What are people’s reasons for loving Modern Art?What are people’s reasons for loving Modern Art?What are people’s reasons for loving Modern Art?

0|0

Most Helpful Guy