Does professionally done makeup always look "good"?

Does professionally done makeup always look My brother started this debate with me after I pointed out that the eyeshadow on this advertisement looks kinda whack in the corners.. It wings upwardly in a weird way and has no direction it's just kinda "there"... And he said "well, it was professionally done" and I said "that doesn't mean that it looks good." And so I went to prove my point further and pull up the following pictures- professionally done but they don't necessarily look good by default.. I wouldn't want to walk around wearing these lmao. Yes, while makeup is art and all (trust me I'm an artist lol) it doesn't necessarily make it look "good" or appealing.. So what's your say? Do you agree with me or my brother?

Not to say that people go around town looking like any of these.. Honestly.. Advertisements are misleading because literally NOBODY walks around town looking like ANY of those dolled up people πŸ˜…

• I agree with you ebby
    Vote A
  • I agree with your brother
    Vote B
  • Other/comment
    Vote C
Select a gender to cast your vote:
I'm a GirlI'm a Guy
Updates:
To clarify: the outlandish examples I used were purposeful... They were to stimulate you. If I were to have asked this question without those examples your typical person would most likely think "well yeah of course professional makeup would look good" etc. I also got a bit goofy towards the end of my desc. Personally I find all of those makeup pics to have been done extremely well as they're very artistic and as previously stated- I'm an artist.

0|2

Most Helpful Guy

• Well, you can't compare every day makeup to art pieces.
    But I agree that just because the person applying has a skill it doesn't mean the result will always look good.

For example the makeup in the first picture just looks tacky and overdone in my opinion.

1|0
    0|0
    • Lol yeah the first picture makeup looked pretty tacky.. That's a good word for it!