How much should I spend on Christmas gifts for a child?

Through my work, I'm sponsoring a child for Christmas this year. I have a wish list of items the little girl wants. But I'm allowed to buy as much or as little as I would like. I was wondering what's an appropriate amount to spend on gifts? This is my first year doing this. I have coworkers who are spending $10 to $100. So pretty wide range there.

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Just buy something good. It doesn't matter as long as it's not lame- you should take the tag off anyways.

3|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• I would look at her items before setting a price range... if she wants 5 small, $10 things I'd get them all and set $50 at the limit. If she wanted several smaller, cheaper things but one expensive item that would be useful and not just nice to have I'd get that.

I do Operation Christmas Child every year and set a $40 limit for each box though if you're just looking for a straight dollar amount 😊

1|0
    0|0

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 16

• Spending more time for a meaningful gift will bring both you and the girl greater joy than just spending more money. Sorry but that doesn't answer directly.

2|0
    0|0
  • Do u know the little girl. If you dont 50. Bucks is good but if your able to meet her and look in to her eyes u better work a few days OT.. i to do this at Chirstmas.

1|0
    0|1
  • You can't help anyone by hurting yourself so just do what you can without feeling bad.

2|0
    0|0
  • Go right in the middle, 50 is not too much right? Can get a few nice things too for her.

2|0
    0|0
  • Remortgage your home you silly fucker, go wild, buy your 10 year old a rolex, do that shit and make it a Christmas to remember...
    Maybe the homelessness of the following Christmas won't be that bad if your now 11 year old still has his rolex, but chances are he'll have been beaten and robbed for it long before next Christmas, probably days after the Christmas of receipt to be honest

0|1
    0|1