Any advice for a 95 pound woman who wants to get her CCW?

I live in a small town no one has heard of. Unfortunately on the tenth of this month, the mother of someone I graduated with was murdered. Just today, there was another homicide nearby where they lived. This is a small town so there's a good chance that I know the victim, or even the person responsible for these deaths.

I work in the healthcare industry. I'm a nurse assistant on the neurology floor of a large hospital. I commute a back and forth everyday. With work and school, I never made time to get my CCW and I now realize that was stupid. I deal with violent people and drug seekers everyday. I always figured if I had to worry about anyone, it'd be my patients.

Do you have any advice for me? It could range from the best type of gun for me to the CCW class. I have a stun gun but that's only good for close attacks, any advice you can give me I'll be glad to hear.

0|2

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 10

• Take all the training and practice you can.
    The best way to figure out what you’re comfortable shooting is to try as many as possible. Some ranges will have open shoot days for people to come in and try different guns and get familiar with firearms handling.
    Personally don’t believe in carrying firearms, but if you’re going to do it, do it right

1|0
    0|0
  • No advice just get it. You have that legal right so why not

America is filled with psychos because of free reign on guns and relaxed weapon laws

So you don’t have a choice. Get it. And keep it on you on your walk home and there. Sumbitch comes at you pop two right in him
    Cops will throw a party

1|0
    0|0
  • I'm a Canadian and not a gun owner, though I'd say try for a handgun of some sort. Figure out which one is best for you.

1|0
    0|0
  • I'd say get a 9mm handgun for easily controllable recoil. Go with a reputable model and brand, I use the Smith and Wesson M&P 9.

1|1
    0|0