What do you do to get your creative juices flowing?

For those creative types out there: writers, musicians, painters, video makers, etc. What helps you focus yourself on creating your works? Do you have a routine? Is there somewhere in particular you like to go? I'm especially interested in any fiction writers' points of view since that's mostly what I like to dabble in.

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I smoke lots of weed

2|0
    0|0
    • lol good answer! I don't know where you stand on psychedelics, but acid makes me feel insanely creative!

• Never done any other drug other than weed. But I'm dead serious about my answer. I'm a musician and music producer and the best ideas always come when I'm high. My brain just sits on another level. I even notice this outside of music. My words become more creative when I speak or write, I come up with funnier jokes, unique ideas, better fashion ensembles. It's like my brain becomes more powerful and open.

Recommended Questions

Have an opinion?

What Girls & Guys Said

• I [attempt to] write fiction, as well as non-fiction.

In terms of inspiration, it hits me at completely random, uncontrollable times. If I'm lucky I'll have a notebook and pen to write down my ideas, otherwise I've resorted to using eyeliner on my arm or thigh to record some semblance if what came to my mind at the most inconvenient of times.

Actually putting those ideas into words (writing) is a whole other ball game. I'm a chronic procrastinator, and embarrassingly easy to distract. If I want to write, I will sit down with my laptop (wireless turned off), a notebook, pen, thesaurus and any other reference books I need. I'll give myself a time limit, and "goal" to complete - and get to it.

In terms of places, I favour coffee shops but can work in other places. My room is an absolute no, because I get way too distracted by the things around me. I need somewhere where I don't feel at home, but am still comfortable.