What's it like to live in a big city? Pros & Cons?

I live in England, I'm gonna start university in a year. I'm thinking of moving to somewhere like London. But I'm scared of being mugged / attacked cos of higher crime rates etc. However, their shopping centres are amazing and their coffee shops lol. I'm a guitarist, hoping to be a professional session musician, so London would be better for me. And i wouldn't mind being a lecturer or music producer or audio engineer or even an actor. Pro's and con's of city life? Whats your opinions? :)
  • City life is GOOD! (more pro's than con's e. g. shopping, meeting more people)
    Vote A
  • City life is BAD (more negatives to outway the positives, Crime etc.)
    Vote B
  • It depends / Other (explain)
    Vote C
Select age and gender to cast your vote:
I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|2

Most Helpful Guys

• Anywhere can be "dangerous" or "safe" depending on how you approach it.

I moved from a mid-sized town in Lincolnshire to a very small town in Devon when I left home. The week before I moved there a girl was murdered in her home 200 yards from where I moved to. There were a lot of homeless people who took shelter in an abandoned building on the edge of the town.

The statistics said that small town had a higher murder rate and a worse drug use and homeless problem than any of the big cities.

There are plenty of places outside London where a session musician can work. And you can live more economically and just travel to the city for work as well.

I live in Somerset now, but I know a couple of professional musicians in the South West who do session work in Bristol and London. It's just a matter of getting known by a studio

1|0
    0|0