17 d

Should I start my hockey (HEAVY air-quotes😂) career, or take more time to develop my skills?

WhiteSteve
Long story short, I started learning to play hockey over the past couple of years, but really, I have only a year’s experience figuring the down time with the pandemic. Picked a terrible time to start, lmao.

I received an email today from a local adult hockey league advertising the upcoming winter/spring season. I didn’t sign up for a league in the fall, because I didn’t feel ready. I could play, but I don’t want to be bad, because I’m hard on myself for athletic failure, and more importantly, I don’t want to be a liability for the sake of my team. I’m getting better, but I’m still waiting to get fluid and automatic instead of clumsy and hesitant. I’ve changed my mentality to “take over the game” when I think I’m the best player on my team who’s on the ice, and I feel like I thrive in that scenario. But when I’m the third-or-lower of the five, I feel like I suck, haha. I’ve been playing at night recently with some new guys, and the first week, most of them were 55+, and I scored like six goals, one guy was calling me “Stevie Yzerman” after the former NHL great. The next week better players came and I had a TOUGH night lmao.