I broke up with my boyfriend, still staying while I look for an apartment, what can I do to cope?

I broke it off with my boyfriend, I couldn't handle it anymore and I regret now not having had an apartment lined up, it was stupid I know.

I'm having such difficulty though finding an apartment, since I work as a cashier but I have a large inheritance and come from a different country, I seem like a "suspicious" applicant who they never want to take on, even when I put prooving documents on my application...

I try to make things so easy, my ex can sleep in the bed, I sleep on the futton, I still do the housework and pay rent and bills... he took 3 days off work because he was so emotional, and seeing him like that makes me feel so guilty too, but I know we are just not compatible even though he his a very nice guy...

I'm stressing so much because I feel so guilty...

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Could you ask friends to take you in on a temporary basis?

Try your best to minimize contact with him. It isn't your fault but his behavior seems to make you feel guilty, which isn't good for either of you.

0|0
    0|0
Sponsored

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 5

• shitty situation.

shitty shitty. good luck.

3|2
    0|0
  • Well you could ask him to perhaps help out and pitch in? Not that he has to, just that it would be better for you both if you could get out of there sooner. And tell him you could pay back later.

But why are you the only one paying rent? And in that case, why do you have to move out if you're paying rent? Is it his apartment? He should be the one paying rent then.

1|1
    0|0
    • oh no I meant as in we both paid our share of the rent and I'm still paying my share, as of course is fair and right.

He said he's happy to help, but then gets emotional and start blaming himself for things...