Advice for first meeting jitters? Do you think he might like me?

First of all I would like to thank everyone kindly for the advice in advance- I've not dated in a long while, and I think it also might be worth mentioning that I am terribly awkward with social cues.

I've currently met someone online, this is my first time ever trying online dating! After many exchanges of friendly banter, he initiated an invite to being Facebook friends.

It makes me comfortable to know that he is who he says he is, a person can never be too careful. Anyhow he was the one who initiated a get together, it went something along the lines of I would potentially be up to doing something that you suggest.

The last thing I think is worth mentioning- he is heavy into theatre! He has just written a play and asked me for my opinion.

I'm a little nervous about this first encounter because I've not been out with someone in so long- what do I do to calm my nerves? Secondly do you guys think he might be interested in more down the road- or does this sound more platonic to you? I apologize profusely for it being so long.

0|0
1|3

Most Helpful Guy

• No apologies necessary.

Perhaps it might calm you to know that most people have first meeting jitters. What you are feeling is the norm for most of humanity.

It might also calm you in knowing that he asked you out. That means that so far, he likes you. That's a step in the right direction, don't you think?

It might also calm you in knowing that the guy who asked you out may very well be feeling the same way.

If you are worried about finding conversation, you could always comment about his play or ask questions about it.

Jitters on first dates are nothing new, my dear. Since Adam met Eve, people have felt them. It's OK that you feel them. Try and remember that, and try and remember that he may very well feel the same way.

Have fun! Good luck! You take care now.

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 2