How do you "stop looking"? Does that advice actually work?

What does that even mean?

You this really common dating advice "stop looking and he'll find you"
Does that work?
And would you actually do that? The only reason I'd stop looking really would be to find someone.

I'm happy in general. I have great friends, I'm involved in sport in charities and I love what I'm studying but one thing I've never had is a boyfriend. And I'm 21 now, I begin to really want that, but it's just not happening for me. And sometimes I get really sad because of that.

0|0
2|5

Most Helpful Guy

• It's total bull but it's well intentioned bull. When people say stop looking what they mean is stop worrying. Stop letting marriage and boyfriends and dating be the center of your life. Let you be the center of your life and go do the things you want to do. And that's when he'll come. Not because you're not looking but because you have blossomed into a desirable woman. A woman who is happy doing what she loves and being who she is. A woman that doesn't feel like she's missing anything. And desirable men can recognize desirable women. There's no guarantee but if your doing it right you won't care.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 4

• No, it doesn't. It really is the stupidest advice ever.

When you stop looking, usually what happens is you actually STOP looking and literally decrease your chances of finding someone. You are literally in no better position than before.

Then you end up actually getting USED to not looking, and prefer the solitude because your brain gets used to the loneliness, hell, you even secretly start to prefer it in this sick kind of way.

Don't follow that advice, it's really stupid and usually given by people who are already in relationships and have no problems finding people.

0|0
    0|0
    • Well what would you advise instead then?

• Show All
    • Hey I do enjoy my sollitude.