Do women get turned off at what degree I'm studying?

When chatting with some girls on a dating webiste as soon as I mention my degree I am studying (engineering) they immediately stopped replying.

At first I thought it was just my imagination and I was being paranoid , so I tried speaking to real person at a bar and hey presto, as soon as I mention what I do, I see a look of either disintrest or boredom from a women face (not all but the majority)'

Does my degree in engineering turn off prospective dates as they fear I might be too boring or nerdy?

Do women really judge you on the basis of your chosen career?

0|0
8|5

Most Helpful Girl

• Honestly it might not be the fact that your major is engineering. It's very possible that the girls you're talking to don't exactly understand what an engineer does. My dad is an engineer so I understand. However, my friends don't seem to get it when I tell them what he does. I've had to explain many times what EXACTLY my dad does. Maybe the girls stop talking because they don't know much about the major and don't want to sound dumb trying to continue the conversation by asking what that is. Next time you tell a girl you're major, try adding what job you're aiming for with your degree and what exactly you'll be doing. Maybe then she'll have a chance to continue the conversation. If not you should ask what she plans she has for her future.

0|2
    0|0

What Girls Said 7

• Some may. Why dont you do a test and say a different major to see if you get the same reactions both online and in person.

0|0
    0|0
  • I think engineering is really cool. If I met a guy studying it, i would be impressed actually, because I know its a hard subject and smart guys are attractive. Some women might see u as a nerd because of that, but you dont wanna be with someone that superficial and shallow anyway ;)

0|0
    0|0