How to make sure a guy is genuinely very interested in me?

I'm very new to dating and the guy I am seeing confuses me. I'm a shy, inexperienced girl while he is more outgoing, flirty, and experienced with women.

He seems to care, but I don't know if I'm being stupid.

He does seem to go out of his way to make a lot of time for me, including long drives, texts, and phone calls.

He also seems to be concerned if I am unhappy or stressed. He seems to worry and tries to find a resolution and offer me advice.

He does ask me a lot of questions about me that seem like he wants to get to know me. Goals, family, interests, etc.

He said he would like to spoil me because I'm a nice girl that doesn't expect much. He likes buying me sweets and food.

He will always ask me if I'm happy with him, and he did tell me he enjoys making me happy.

He also told me that he is very physically attracted to me and that he feels an emotional connection with me. We were just cuddling when he said this, but he says this a lot.

The thing that confuses me is the physical nature of our relationship. He knows I'm not having sex anytime soon, but he likes to touch me and kiss me a lot.

I'm okay with hand holding and waist holding and things like that, but he also likes to grab my butt and touch my breasts a lot. He also likes for me to put my hand on his crotch area.

Right now is a bad time for a relationship for both of us so he thinks we should hold off on being official and just continue to see each other.

He said he wouldn't be likely to see anyone else, just because he is very busy. But he would want me to date someone else I met if I felt they were a better fit for me.

He does talk about us like boyfriend and girlfriend though. On our second date he told me I'm like someone who he would want to date seriously.

He got me an incredibly thoughtful birthday gift, and has referred to himself as the man in the relationship before.