Is it too soon to tell him this?

I met this guy on an online dating site. We went on a date about a week ago, and it went really well. Talked for two hours straight, and have been exchanging paragraph-long texts since then. We're going out again tonight, just casual dinner and some wandering around. The thing is, I'm 22 and I have absolutely zero dating experience. Because of that I'm wanting to take things really slowly. I mean, I didn't even want him to come pick me up from my house. That even seemed like too much! But we've spent so little time together, so is it too soon to sit down with him and just say
"I used to be a really shy person, and because of that I'm completely new to this whole dating thing. I like hanging out with you, and I would like to continue getting to know you, but I need to take things really slowly. I hope that's okay".
Or is that too serious/lame/loserish/pathetic/embarrassing.
And is it too soon?
Guys, how would you react if a girl said all that to you?

Updates:
The main reason I'd bring this up at all is because I don't want him to think I'm not interested in him. Just to reassure him that I'm getting there, I just need a little more time.

0|0
2|6

Most Helpful Girl

• It is better to tell him early in the relationship so he understands the pace and doesn't think you are just not that into him or very complicated. I am sure conversation will allow you to take a moment to explain it to him that you want to take things slow -- I don't think you need to actually go into a lot of detail like you did for us, but just say it. If he asks why or about your dating history, turn it into a positive v. saying you were always shy - maybe you had different priorities (don't lie if it isn't true) -- you don't want to scare him away either so just be calm and collected if possible and be willing to grow - show that you are willing to grow in your actions.. :)