I have a boyfriend, but a new guy asked to "hang out" and I panicked and said yes! Help?

I am new to this college and didn't know anyone so when I met this guy on the first day I was so happy to be making a friend. When he asked to hang out I said yes without considering that it could mean more to him than just as friends. Now I am not sure what to do without ruining a friendship. (Should I tell my boyfriend?)

0|0
2|6

Most Helpful Guy

• Hanging out is just hanging out. Go along, it might be fun. Guys and girls could be friends, it's not forbidden.

If he tries something, just tell him straight up.

But I would tell your boyfriend, just so he doesn't think you're hiding something. And he shouldn't be all jelly or anything

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 5

• I'd ask immediately, as in contact him at the first moment you have time available to do so. Sooner better than later. As in ASAP.

If you can't contact him before the 'hang out'... if it becomes obvious during the hang out that that he considers it a date, try this:

"I'm sorry, I was so happy to make a friend that I panicked. I have a boyfriend, but if that changes, can I call you?"

If during the hangout, you can't tell if he thinks it's a date, maybe say 'this would be a great place to take a date.' Read his reaction, and move on from there.

0|0
    0|0
  • Cancel on the other guy

0|0
    0|0
  • Hang out with him. It's just hanging out, you're not seeing him to bang him!

0|0
    0|0
  • Did you tell the other guy you have a boyfriend? if not make sure you tell him that first before you hang out

0|0
    0|0
  • Yes, of course you tell your boyfriend

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 2