Find A Job After College? Is Going To College Worth It?

I have recently just graduated 3 weeks ago and received my Bachelor's degree. People keep telling me that I should be proud that I am a college graduate, that college is very important for the future, and that it opens doors for you. Lately, I feel like college has been hindering me.

I've been in an out of interviews and only faced a lot of rejections so far.

The only jobs that seem really interested in me are entry level sales job (I hate sales) and jobs that pay very low hourly (8.50-10 and hour).

-I also accumulated $21,000 in college debt. If I didn't have this debt, I could have saved up for my Camaro.

I have worked a lot in my past (various jobs and community service as well). But I have no internships under my belt. Sometimes I just feel like the work I put into college was a huge waste. Especially since a friend I know who didn't go to college just recently got an office manager job and another a sales manager job (both of them making 30-40K already).

How long did it take you to find a job after college?

• Yes, college is very important
    Vote A
  • No, college is not that important
    Vote B
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

1|1

Most Helpful Guy

• What did you major in?

I am finishing up my Masters in Accounting and have a CPA job lined up to roll into after school starting at 55K a year with a clear line of advancement.
    (No, I didn't know anybody, nor was I in a frat. Accounting is a great major for jobs is all.)

I have a friend who got a degree in Marketing, but his true interest was in technology. He took a sales position because that was all that was available. He hated it, but after a couple years he was able to transfer to a more tech centered position. A year later he was able to get a job in IT at a medical research company. He loves his new job, but would never have been able to get the job without first taking that sucky sales position.