How do I deal with this?

I am studying at uni, and my class is mostly guys (there's only two other girls). One of the guys I kind of know, but don't really talk to outside of class, has asked me to see a movie with him. I thought "Yeah, I could see a movie" so I said yes.

Then it occurred to me that this could be a date. I don't want to date at the moment, so I'm a little worried he might think I am interested in him. He's a decent guy as far as I know and because I haven't dated before, I don't know how to tell him that I'm not interested in him (if this is indeed a date). I don't mind seeing a movie with him, but I have no idea what to expect if this turns out to be a "first date" either...

Updates:
Given that I haven't dated before (and don't want to at the moment) what would you expect on "first date" or a seemingly random 1-on-1 outing anyway?
When a guy asks you out on a first "date", is there an expectation the dating will continue? Or is it just a 1-on-1 to simply get to know a person a little better?

In response to a comment -- hahaha, yes I am often quite daft!

0|0
1|4

Most Helpful Guy

• Of course it's a date!

You stop him before the date is supposed to happen (in person) and say "Hey, I was a little taken off guard when you asked me to the movie, so I didn't have time to express myself. I just wanted you to know that I want to go to the movies with you, but purely as a friend. If you intended this to be a date, I'll understand if you want to cancel. Otherwise, I'll look forward to going with you"

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 3

• Oh man, yeah, he is for sure going to assume this is a date. If you want to make it clear, you are going to have to tell him, and tell him BEFORE the date, or it's going to really suck for him.