How can I feel better about messing up my chances with this guy due to my stupid mistake?

I do. I'm only 21 and haven't dated many guys, so I am still learning. I had met an amazing guy a while back, dated for 4 months, and ruined everything with him. Everything was going great, until one day he called and said that we shouldn't talk anymore because he felt that I wouldn't initiate contact and how he would always be the one to initiate contact. (I did show interest and accept his dates, and did actually reach out a couple times.) I didn't reach out very much because of my past mistakes of being the girl that chases the guy. Of course, I've learned now, and learned the healthy balance of the two.
BUT it's too late. I had texted him saying how I had missed him. He told me he had a girlfriend. And I feel like I'm the only one who deals with these "inexperienced mistakes" problems and am so embarrassed. I wish I could have him back and sometimes cry and blame myself. I feel I'm at fault and how I ruined something that was so great.
How can I feel better about this?

Any advice would be appreciated. I know plenty will say "Move on" but I would like something a little more than that.

0|0
0|2

Most Helpful Guy

• Well, the moving on part is obvious, and you have said you don't want to hear it, but the urge to say it was just too great, as it is incredibly relevant.

However, that being said, I will acquiesce to your request and give you something more than that.

It was not you. It was not because you were not the one the to initiate contact. If a guy is into you, that will never, ever, be a reason for him to break up with you. Is it better to have a healthy balance between the two of you initiating? Yes. Will a guy who is crazy about a girl take her accepting ALL his dates but not asking him decide that 'well, she is rude, so I don't need that in my life'? No. Never.