Would you date someone who has been in prison?

So my parents have this small farm. Not a commercial one, just enough to live off and when they hire help they often take guys who are on probation because well they work for food and a roof over their head.
I'm a Vet in a near by town so I'm around quite a lot.

The one who works there right now has been with them for 3 years and they're very happy with it. He works hard, is polite, funny and he asked me out.
I think he is a great guy overall, but I'm a bit worried about going out with someone who has been in prison. He once was arrested when he was 16 for beating up his step dad, which he claims was abusing his mom and then again at 19 for dealing pot. He said to be "ill tempered" or "aggressive" depending on which one of his parole officer you ask.

I don't know him like that at all, but you know I do wonder

0|0
3|4

Most Helpful Guy

• You best leave the relationship the way it is. He is a good worker for your parents on their farm. if you bring romance into this, you risk blowing everything up for you, and your parents.

There's a reason why you are asking this question, your gut instinct is telling you to be careful.

Always listen to your gut.

1|1
    0|0
    • Also, it sounds like he's been in jail. Prison, and jail, are two very, very different things.

• Show All
    • Well, you can go to jail for being a little too drunk and stumbling on the sidewalk.

You get released the next day when you're sober.

Prison is a place for people who are a little more dangerous than someone who was a little tipsy.

If you were convicted of manufacturing hard drugs like Meth, you go to prison. In fact, you cannot even hold someone in jail for more than a period of time (usually less than a year).

You can hold someone in prison for the rest of their lives.

If you get convicted of murdering someone in cold blood, you don't go to jail, you to go prison.

If you have too many unpaid parking tickets, you may go to jail.