How young is "too young"?

I was making out with a guy at a house party a few days ago. We went back to his house and hung out there (we didn't sleep together) He told me he was 19 and in first year. Later I added him on Facebook and saw on his page that he had just turned 17 two months ago, he was lying about his age! I asked him about it and he said it shouldn't matter and we should meet up again anyway because age is still a number. I'm a 21 year old female by the way. I'll be 22 in January. Which means I'm about four and three quarters years older than him. To think he was just 16 a few months ago scares me, that he was in school and everything. Am I being paranoid or should I continue talking to him + meet up with him? I really like him, we like each other, but I'm not sure if the age difference is okay (He's barely legal for starters) and just left his parent's home to go to college. I've been renting outside of my parents home for five years now. I worry that we're at different stages of our lives + that it wouldn't work. Plus (and I know this maybe makes me shallow) I would be so embarrassed to tell my friends I had a 17 year old boyfriend! Is 17 too young? I turn 22 in January. Honest opinions please!

0|0
4|6

Most Helpful Guy

• It sounds like you have more doubts than hope that it'd work out.

I think lying isn't a good way to start any relationship. Also, your point about being in different stages in your lives is huge. Especially between men and women, the maturity level often becomes an issue. However, seeing as you both really like each other (and given that it's alright in your state to date someone 17), maybe it wouldn't hurt to just give it a shot for now at least.

Age differences can be tricky, but it really is case by case. Sometimes it doesn't work, other times it does. Just takes the right attitude, flexibility, and communication to do so.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 5