I don't feel wanted, but he assures me that I am?

I've been texting this guy, lets call him Jim, for a good 4 months now. I have friends that know him, and they've all explained to me that he is very shy and quiet. So, after the first few months passed we went out on a date. It was nice, I had a really good time talking to him, and he actually kept the conversation going although he's quiet.
However, on our way back I was driving and a dog walked in front of my car. I have never killed anything larger than my thumb, and I love dogs. It was pitch black outside, and we were alone on a 80km stretch, but I maintained my composure. Jim turned in his seat to look behind us, and all I could say was "I don't want to know. I don't want to know."
He turned back in his seat and told me the dog was walking, "I think you just stunned it." he said.
I just held my face in my hands. "Here, pull over." He said as he motioned to the side of the road.
I did as he said. Then he opened his door. "Are you okay?" he asked.
"No." I said. Then he opened the door wider. "I'm going to check to see if your car is okay. Okay?"
I nodded.
After all of that muddle, I drove him home, and we said our good byes. He didn't try to touch me, which I found odd, but he said "Just text me when you get home so I know you're safe, and don't hit anymore dogs."
We laughed, and went separate ways.
Since then, we've texted everyday. However, due to school, we haven't seen each other. I'm 18, in college, and he's 17 and trying to graduate. He's only seven months younger than me. I come home on weekends, though. I love the space and I have no complaints about his loyalty, or defining "what we are" in regards to us. I suppose you're wondering what my problem is then.