Is it weird that I'm 19 years old and I've never had a girlfriend?

I am a 19 year old guy and I’ve never had a girlfriend. Even though I have a passion for what I’m currently studying, I would truly like nothing more than to find a girl who suits my personality whom I could hold in my arms and show how truly amazing she is and to be there when she needs me. I guess most of my problem is that I’m not super extroverted like most guys my age are so I don’t get that much attention. On any given night I’d much rather stay in, cuddle with a special someone and watch a film or chat, than go out clubbing and drinking myself to death. I hate nightclubs anyhow. I believe that in terms of appearance, I’m not bad: I work out most days and I play rugby and I row, I keep good personal hygiene standards however I don’t adorn myself in expensive aftershaves but as a student, I can’t afford to be spending a lot of money on things I don’t really need. I dress nicely, somewhat casual and sometimes smart-casual but I don’t have very expensive clothes because, again, as a student, I don’t have mountains of cash. My personality, I am known in my college for having a great sense of humor and being intelligent and somewhat well spoken. That however, is when I’ve had time to warm up to people. I am confident that a girl out there would really like me for who I am but currently, the attraction barrier is my worst enemy at the moment. I’m not great at meeting people for the first time and I get nervous meeting girls for the first time so I don’t really transmit confidence I guess but I’m trying to work on it but it’s really hard.