How do I deal with my parents?

I really can't stand them anymore, they're very possessive and obsessive with my studies and my career, they do everything to make me study and such, they took my computer, my phone and it bothers me so much, the thing is it's my first year of college, im FUCKING 18 and they still behave as if I'm in high school, my dad took my computer a week ago and then I found it hidden in his desk so I took it when he found out he fucking slapped and tried to strangle me, i really can't stand this anymore, im choking an i can't handle stress at home and the stress of the studies, i've been crying all night, i honestly don't know what to do? they overreact and they call me names such as whore and fucking useless shit just because i use my laptop a lot, like what the fuck, i don't even go out nor have friends at all, all i do is go to class and come home... please someone help, any advice would be welcomed

0|0
1|5

Most Helpful Guy

• There are several things going on...

1) You dont need to take abuse.
    2) if you are under their roof, no matter how old you are, there is an obligation to follow their rules. They are paying.

So that leave some choices... follow their rules (Again not suggesting you take abuse) OR find a way to move and start making it on your own. if you can hang on a couple of more years, life is going to be easier. in the long RUN, but you just may not be able to handle the rubbish from them. I am sorry.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 4

• At least you're 18. Well, you gotta move, things in your house don't seem that are going to get better if they don't understand that studies and carrer aren't everything in life. So, staying out of home seems to be a good idea, but you're gonna need money for that, so finding a job to get money will be necessary.

0|0
    0|0