Ladies: Can you explain yourselves on these two pitfalls of dating?

The "intelligent conversation"and "man who knows what he wants" traps. I can't figure this out and I don't know if I even have the desire to do so anymore. It makes no sense to me. Here are a few examples that occur so frequently that I will use them as supporting evidence to my claims.

"Intelligent conversation". First off I don't claim to be intelligent. How can anyone measure what is considered intelligent? If you base it on articulation and reading lots of books written by a Dr. Smartypants, then that just makes make you a bookworm. What counts as actual intelligence?

Here is where I experience a lot of problems.

Woman: So what do you do?

Me: I'm a student working on a Ph.d. in Anthropology and Political Science. I plan on teaching with my degree. I'm also engineering some microagrarian systems that use existing technology refurbished to improve the human condition based on the United Nations 2008 Human Development Index.

long pause...blank stare...odd silence...

I would think that qualifies as promising in the realm of "intelligent conversation". Think again.

" a man who knows what he wants."

What do I want? I want sense, reason, and logic to dictate in solving global crisis. I am doing my small part to unf*** some of the worst we as a species have done to each other in the names of everything from religion,economics,nationalism, to just plain malice intent.

I have again assumed that this direction is my life's work would qualify me as maybe having some sense of direction or purpose to my existence.

Wrong again. It's again a measure of relevance. If your goal in life is to work at Wal-Mart and have 3 kids, then I guess it makes sense that this is where we part ways. I have no problem with children, it's the opposite. I understand all too well how being raised in poverty can really destroy a child's sense of self worth. I know this because I am the son of proletariats.