How should a Caucasian girl approach an Asian guy?

Hey guys! I'm a freshman in college, and there's this really cute Japanese guy (from Japan, he's not American) in one of my classes. I've heard that when it comes to Asian guys, the girl should make the first move because they're often too shy. As of now, he sits in the row in front of me (in a small class of about 24) and I've only talked to him to ask for his name and for a class-related question. How can I build up the courage to approach him more and get to know him? It would be suspicious if I all of a sudden sat next to him, so I don't think I can do that. Should I ask him questions about Japan, ask him if he wants to join a study group with me and my friends, etc? I'm painfully shy when it comes to talking to cute guys, but I keep trying to tell myself that I'll never know what could happen unless I try. I'm sure it would be much easier if he were Asian American, but he's not, and I don't want to do something culturally inappropriate. I said hi to him on the way out from class, and he said hi back in a sort of quick, abrupt tone :/ I don't know what else I can do, as I don't want to seem desperate and pushy. Haha, help me! I've only had one boyfriend, so I'm not very experienced with guys.

I'm Caucasian with chestnut brown hair, brown eyes, and olive skin, if that makes a difference. Do Japanese guys typically like Caucasian girls?

0|0
4|13

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm Asian. It's kinda weird but I like a girl who can use chopsticks and knows what REAL Asian food is like. The chopstick thing isn't sexual, I'm just impressed by girls who can because most can't.

3|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 12

• Of course they do, unless he's gay. The Japanese culture is all about honor and respect. Start by being blunt honest to him, that you are interested, and see where that goes.