How often should I pay/let him pay?

I've been dating my boyfriend for just about a month and a half. I've never liked the idea of the guy always paying, because it feels very outdated to me as well as unfair. I always let a guy pay on the first date if he is the one who asked me out. After that, I'll generally try to pay. Well, with him, he's been quicker than me a few times and I've just let it slide, and then resolved to make sure I pay next time. So, I've paid a few times when we've been out but I am certain he has paid more than I had both in terms of frequency and total amount spent in the time we've been dating.

When we talked about the subject the other night, I explained that I don't think it's fair to a guy to always feel like he has to pay, but that I've got limited dating experience and I'm not really sure what the best way to go about it is, so I generally will try to pay every other time. He said that as far as he is concerned, if the activity (dinner, movie, etc) was HIS idea, HE should pay.

I think that's fair, except that I'm generally super easy about what we do and don't tend to make the suggestions. He's great for coming up with ideas and does so more than I do.

So here's my question - how concerned should I really be with keeping things as equal as possible? Or should I just sort of keep doing what I'm doing and if it evens out, it evens out, if not, no big deal?

Updates:
On a related note: GUYS - does a woman paying make you feel emasculated at all? If so, how come?

I've had guys in the past tell me that it is emasculating. It doesn't seem to bother my boyfriend, he just sorta smiles about it and says "you don't have to pay" and always says thank you when I do pay..

0|0
3|2

Most Helpful Guy

• First of all let me say how I wish there were more women like you!!! I generally find it like pulling teeth to find a woman who is willing to pay for anything ever!