Ever choose gaming over a date?

I've done this a few times, not too often, and I'm feeling guilty that I didn't feel guilty about it. I just want to know if anyone knows about any long term repercussions of my behavior (gaming 3-4 hours a day) in relation to my love life.

Just so you know a little about me:

I'm active and in shape

I have a life and friends

I'm an honors student in college

I won't go near mmorpg's, though WOW is looking more and more appealing

3-4 hours was a loose estimate, but it ranges anywhere from an hour or so for a quickie to over 12 hours

I'd like to know what you guys think will happen to me in the long term, I don't want lectures about how evil games are or how I'm in denial, I know I'm an addict, I'll live with it

Updates:
I'm in a steady relationship, 10 months and counting

0|0
2|3

Most Helpful Girl

• I think gaming everyday 3-4 hours, though sometimes it is 1 hour and other times it is 12, has got to be impacting your life and probably your relationship. Between gaming, going to classes, homework and studying, your friends and a girlfriend, well that is a full slate of activities. If you add a part-time job to that, which it sounds like you don't have right now, then forget about it. Your girl is going to get the short end of the stick.

At your age, a long-term relationship is not likely to be very important. But if you do not want to lose your girl, and if this is already causing friction or you end up needing to add other stuff into the mix, further limiting your dating, you need to reconsider what you want more, the girl or the game. It's your choice.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 1

• It's too much. Unless you are wealthy enough that you don't have to work, that is. If you game 3 - 4 hours per day AND work AND do stuff like grocery shopping, then you can't have much time for anything else. If you're in good shape now and really do have a life and friends, then I can't imagine how you'll stay this way in the long term.