Dating a muslim man?

Okay I am new to this so you more then likely seen a post of mine.. Well this is my question if anyone can help. I have been seeing this guy for a while and well now we are dating I never press the issue of us dating and going further... But now he said we are dating and well to me with our "dating" I thought it would be more into it. I only see him once a week sometimes twice and we barely talk but more text. My thing is.....is it because I am white and he is muslim. How can I bring that up to him without getting him upset? Plus I am new to the dating thing so anything will help. What should i expect from this?

0|0
1|3

Most Helpful Guy

• I assume he's middle eastern?

In that case, "dating" as we know it is not what it is in his culture. They're extremely conservative, and depending on the region, following sharia law (which is NOT a good system to follow)

I'd honestly slowly back away. Some may call me islamaphobic but really, if you're barely talking in the first place and he calls it dating, that's a huge warning sign in my opinion

0|0
    0|0
    • Yes he is middle eastern... He has mentioned about Sharia and he does do his prayers when he needs to. That never bug me but Our talks have come to barely and well she sure does not like it when i swear lol.. but not with what you answer makes me want to back away but why slowly?

• I suppose I should have worded that better. You mentioned that he's from Iraq. Like I said, extremely conservative region

I would call things off, citing lack of communication, not really going anywhere. Basically, it doesn't feel like you two are dating since you're in a constant state of confusion.

I honestly have no idea how he would react. I've had rare interaction with people from that region (a friend of mine has family in UAE and Yemen) and they don't seem very... tolerant per se

Good luck!

• Thank you,

What Guys Said 2