Was I Being Fair (Please vote and elaborate with your own responses)?

Hello everyone, I especially want the input from adult guys on this question. I met someone who lives long-distance away on an online dating site. This guy is an educated professional in the science field, like me (he has a master's degree while I have a PhD). We BOTH work about 80 hrs per week or more.
The first day we talked, he was very enthusiastic to correspond with me. We emailed, texted, and had one phone call all in one day. He seemed very nervous on the phone though, and I felt nervous too.
We are both introverts, small talk isn't "our thing", so I didn't think anything of it. He ended the phone conversation first rather abruptly, but then proceeded to text me later in the night back and forth for about 30 minutes. Our texting went well, and I thought we had slightly more of an interesting texting experience than on the phone.