Dating an older man with kids, advice?

I've been talking to this guy for about 3-4 months and we've started spending a lot of time together the past 2 or so months. We know what we want and are really attractive and interested in each other. We've considered making our relationship exclusive. I just have one thing, he has 4 children ranged from 15 to 5. He got snipped before his divorce and can't have kids. He never said he didn't want more, just that he can't have more.. which nothing says I don't want kids quite like a vasectomy. Anyways, I think maybe one day I might want children, or at least one. I'm not 100% sure but not even having that option bothers me. He's 34 and I'm 22. Any advice?

0|1
4|9

Most Helpful Guy

• Make sure it's actually what you want. Do you know for sure whether or not he's willing to have kids with you via reversing his vasectomy or other means like surrogacy? For me and my SO, we don't really plan on having kids in the future, but in time that may change. As long as he is willing to compromise for you, then I say yeah make your relationship exclusive. Having said that, if a part of you thinks that he's not willing to have any more kids, then you're simply sacrificing that much more for him. I hope you really consider your options here and I do hope that you do make the right choice with him.

1|0
    0|0
    • We haven't discussed it. He just stated he'd been snipped from the get go, and later he'd asked if I seen myself settling down, if I wanted to get married and have kids. I told him yeah, not now, but one day I'd like to get married and have some kids. But that's all we've mentioned. I think we need to talk a little more on that, right?

• Yeah you guys definitely need to have a serious conversation about it; let him know exactly what you want in the relationship and hopefully he's able to meet with you half way. I do hope everything does works out between the two of you

What Guys Said 8