What is going on in this situation, is this the endless grey zone?

I've been talking and seeing this guy from my school for 8 months. We talk literally everyday, all day; we talk far into the night into the early hours of the morning. He told his friends about ''us'' and I've told my friends about him as well. His mother knows about me and my mom knows about him. He tells me I'm beautfiul and pretty and listens to my problems. He hugs me in front of his friends, in front of his class and even was late to class to try and see me. But here's the thing, we're not dating :'( I know everything from his favorite color, to how many siblings he has, to what he wants to be when he gets older, I even know his schedule (and A LOT more) and he knows so much about me, we literally talk everyday. But he said we can't date until we know everything about each other because he said you can't commit unless you know everything about each other.
But this confuses me because he's dated people before (I believe his last girlfriend was when he was 14) so why is he talking so long? Does he not really want to date and is trying to be nice? He said he's scared of love but I don't think that would stop someone if they really like a person. Is it his busy schedule, he has two jobs and driving school? Or am I in the grey zone.

Updates:
He's 17, I'm almost 15.

0|0
1|6

Most Helpful Guy