Apologizing and forgiving. Details: In early 2014 I started dating this great guy and then about 6 months later we decided to just be friends and ?

sometimes occasionally more. We both of us work crazy jobs, I'm a teacher and he's a pilot and he, unfortunately, lives out of a hotel most of the time. From July 2014 to July 2015, he was home for only 62 days. We chatted a lot just as friends and then we decided to go on a weekend getaway to Florida last January. Well, I became pregnant and informed him of my choice, of keeping the baby. He wasn't thrilled at first, but he supported my decision. In April, I had a miscarriage and had a d&c and later contracted a nasty infection. I called him and told him, I lost the baby and he flew into town and was there for me for every procedure and took care of me at home. Which is so extremely kind and I can't thank him enough. It's been a struggle these few months. My emotions have been doing 360's and I just want to normal again. He was in town about two weeks ago and came over. I asked him the next day if he would like to have dinner or lunch? It's the only way I know how to thank him for everything. He responded with, "well, I'm busy and I'm only in town for 4 days." I said, just be honest and say no thank you. He immediately sat down and rearranged his schedule. But, I informed him that, I would only have dinner with him if he wasn't feeling forced to do something he obviously wasn't interested. in. He left my apartment and we did not communicate with each other until 2 days later. He informed me, he had gone back to work and that I didn't seem interested in having dinner with him. I informed him, I never said that and that I said I don't want to force you to do something you obviously had little interest in. Then the argument got heated and now were only communicating via email. I've tried a couple of times to apologize and he's being a jerk and only responds with ok. I just don't know what to do. I don't want us to act chi