Do you think finding the right one is one of the biggest challenges in dating?

So I've been using online dating sites/apps for the past 4 years and while I've been successful in attracting and meeting a good amount of women, at least 30+, I still haven't found a relationship. Usually it's the ones I don't like who like me and vice versa. My closest to forming a relationship from there, I ended up being led on hardcore and used as a rebound. That fucked me up big time. I may be over the rebounder herself but what it did was fuck up how I go about things, I guess give me a fear of commitment, and not be sure if I was doing too much or too little.

Looking back, it's not as bad as I made it out to be but the thing is I've tried giving ones a chance where we had stuff in common and could talk but I had very little to no attraction which made it awkward. If I don't feel it for someone, I can't force myself to and am not just gonna settle just for the sake of being in a relationship. It doesn't make me happier and it's unfair to the other person and mostly a waste of time.

Then there's others where there might be a lot to a decent amount of physical attraction but they have nothing in common or they can't hold a conversation to save their life. They give one word replies and doing nothing to further conversation which makes it tough because they're not giving cues showing interest and I don't know if I'm doing too much or too little.