Long Distance Online Relationship? Will this ever work?

Hi, and thanks for taking time to look at my post. This isn't really a question but more reaching out for opinions.
Back in January I started playing minecraft, ladida, made some friends over the game etc (lets skip the boring part that lasts 5 months to June.) I was eventually invited to play on a small server with a few new people I hadn't gamed with before. I quickly became really good friends with this guy and regularly played on the server with him, often flirting or joking around etc. Our mutual friend pointed out she thought we liked eachother and ended up with him asking me out about 3 weeks after meeting. I declined with the reason that i didn't know him well enough and wanted to actually be able to talk (via teamspeak or skype) before anything happened. However, I have social and phone anxiety, so talking to people isn't exactly my forte. Skip to October, and we have pretty much started having this relationship online, just without talking because I am still super axious for no reason and he also isn't so keen on talking. Our online relationship is pretty much exactly how a normal relationship would be when not around eachother. He recently moved to university 3 hours away from where i am, which is 2 hours more than it had been before he went. I desperatly want to break the 'purely chat' relationship we have and bring it to talking or the real world, but my anxiety is preventing me from doing that and every time i think i have the courage to do it i end up backing out last minute.
So, to clear up, i am in an online relationship with this guy, we haven't used out voices to talk purely chat, we are just over a year age gap (im 17, he's 18), none of our parents know, and now there is an even longer distance between us than there was, yet i physically and emotionally can't bring myself to talk.