Is it Wrong For a 19 Year Old to Date a Barely 16 Year Old?

I'm 19 going on 20 and I have a huge crush on a barely 16 year old girl at my Church. We're Orthodox. I'm a college freshman and she's in high-school.

Should I ask her out on a date or is the age difference too great? It's not like I would have sex with her or anything--I'm too traditional for that--and I've known her family for about 4 years despite hardly ever talking to her due to shyness.

I like her because not only is she ridiculously cute, but she's surprisingly very mature, nice, and also a big sister just as I'm a big brother. We have that firstborn similarity. She makes me happy inside.

Should I purchase her a gift for the holidays like fancy chocolate? Would it be wrong if I asked her out? Should I ask her parents first or would that make things awkward? Is it normal to be attracted to her? After all, age gaps were very common less than 100 years ago.

0|0
9|6

Most Helpful Girl

• You may want to wait until she's 18 to date her just in case. Not saying you can't be affectionate with her and casually date or something, but some people may look down on you having a relationship with her.

1|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 8

• Leave her alone. You're an adult. She's a child. This isn't an issue of age gaps or what was Smdone in the past. It's a matter of an adult wanting to be involved with a child.

0|0
    1|0
    • No offense, but is it any different than the 18 year old High School guys who go after 15 year old freshman girls because they're easier to get into bed? That seems to be socially accepted, though at least in my case I wouldn't be having sex with her at all, we're both rather traditional and reactionary being Russian Orthodox, and I've known her family for about 4 years.

• That would be wrong too in my opinion.

If you've known her for four years what's wrong with waiting 2 more?

• i think it is. Maybe you can wait a few more years.

1|0
    0|0