Ladies: how would you feel? Am I allowed to be hurt and upset? I just need someone to empathize and tell me if I'm wrong. please help?

I had a crush on this guy for an entire year, and he seemed to think I was attractive. I'm not shy, but I'm new to dating so I didn't know what to say or do properly. He, on the other hand has dated plenty of girls, but before I met him he had just broke up with his ex, and she was horrible to him and she shot his self confidence, so he became really shy and antisocial. So we kind of flirted, but just very mildly, and he seemed slightly interested based on the things he would do when talking to me or around me. He would stare at me a lot. I definitely was the more outgoing one in our "aquaintancship". Notice I said aquaintancship rather than friendship, because we never really were friends, honestly. We probably had a total of less than 10 brief conversations. On the sidelines: he and his ex girlfriend were best friends during our whole little flirty aquaintancship. His ex used to be really friendly towards me then for some reason stopped talking to me and stopped being nice when I met "him". There were rumors floating around that she still had a crush on him but he didn't want to go back to her. Then he started dating another girl (she pursued him). I'm not trying to be mean, but this girl was really plain. And the girls he's dated in the past were HOT. Some of the hottest girls on campus. So it's obvious that he was more into her personality, than looks, and like I said I'm not trying to be mean. After a few weeks they broke up because he wasn't into her all that much. Meanwhile this whole flirty aquaintancship was still going on with me and him. Long story short, a friend of his told him I liked him, after finding out from my friend. He told his friend that he thought I was beautiful. So the guy pulls me aside one day and says he wants to talk. He basically told me that he didn't know me that well and he didn't want to date a gir