Veterans and relationships?

I am a Marine combat veteran that served in Afghanistan and saw my share of war while deployed. Although I feel fine throughout my days at home now, I have some anxiety, nightmares, and difficulty sleeping. Since I've been out of the miitary, I have dated a few woman that were aware of my militiary service and I never really had to explain too much to them about my situation. However, I am currently seeing a woman that seems to really like me a lot, but also seems to be a little on the fence about my time in the military and time served overseas. Her initial attraction to me was because of my military service, and I appretiate her liking of it. But yesterday she said something that was a little hurtful.

As a combat veteran, I can be a little jumpy and easily startled at times. She happen to startle me by accident yesterday and thought it was a little funny, although i did not at all and found my heart to be racing a thousand miles a minute. She eventually asked me if it was funny or not and I said no, it really wasn't. She then said, "I can tell your going to be difficult to deal with." It was when she said that that I got a little offended and thought it was rude. I then tried to get a straight answer out of her and what she meant. It was a bit of a struggle, but what i got from her was that ,"I was different from civilian guys." And the only thing she really backed that up with was that my body is a little worn down from carrying so much gear over the years. But really, I think she may have meant more than that. From there I got really upset, dissapointed, angry almost. I thought, "Would it really be that difficult to 'deal with me'?"

So my question is, are there any other combat veterans out there that have had similiar situations happen to them?

What Girls Said 2

• First, and most important, thank you for your service to our country.

"Her initial attraction to me was because of my military service"