Feeling judged for being single?

Maybe this is crazy, but does anyone else feel this way? My friends are constantly saying "Oh, you need to get his number!" or saying that I need to get a boyfriend. I'm even set up with friends of co-workers because I'm the only single person at my school (I'm a teacher). I'm only 23, but I've been single for almost 4 years and I feel like people judge me for it, or treat me like I'm some cyclops because I'm not in a relationship or married. I just have really BAD luck with dating and let's face it: it's really hard to meet someone nowadays. In college, I was focused on learning. Now that I'm in my profession, bars and things like that aren't really where I think I'd meet a mate. Sometimes, it feels hopeless, but the last thing I need from people is to be singled out and made to feel weird because I haven't found someone, you know? Why do people do that to singles? Even those who are content with not having someone?

What Guys Said 2

• Maybe this talk gets to you because it's something you're insecure about. That's normal.

For me, it gets annoying when the "gay" murmurs start leaking out. Oh, he doesn't have a girlfriend and he's semi handsome. He must be gay.

It used to bother me a lot, but then I realized its typical of ignorant people. How can they possibly know that I'm an INTJ with a glaring weakness in romance? They don't, so it's unfair to be mad at them.

• Touche. I guess I just wish people didn't make it out to be such a big deal, especially when some of their marriages are questionable at best.

Oh, I know. My friends joke about me and our other friend being lesbian lovers because we're both single and have been for a long time. It gets old.