28 and never had girlfriend - what else can I do?

I am already 28, and yet never had a gilfriend. I try to date for few years, but all the time girls start to ignore me very quickly, last one said that I'm creepy few days ago.
That's strange for me, as while I am introverted, I have good social skills and plenty of activities - I work as a college tutor, obtain second higher degree at the same time, volunteer for students with learning disabilities, and spend lots of time on social and political activism - grassroots campaigns, help for homeless and veterans. I also speak several languages, travel a lot and sometimes publish articles on historic topics.
I have many male friends, and some of women 40+, but again - I never had any luck with younger ones, and it devastates me. Good appearance doesn't help as well, so as confidence.
Really, don't know what to do - I tried everything from online dating to friends' assistance for years, with no result at all.
Because of this, I feel very lonley. Enough to think about suicie rather often.

Updates:
In several replies, my communication and social skills were questioned. Of course it's obvious assumption that problem is in them, and thus it's understandable. However, on my last birthday I got greetings from more than two hundred people, and I didn't remind any of them to do it :-)

0|0
11|11

Most Helpful Girl

• "I have good social skills"

According to whom? Just being able to talk to people is not the same as having good social skills.

Are you actually engaging? Do people thrive on your conversation topics and can't get enough of your company? Do you have charm? Charisma? Chutzpah, even?

If you're a boring person to be around, women will not want to date you no matter how many hobbies you have or how successful you get. Sure, you'll get the usual gold diggers looking to make a quick buck, but romance wise you'll be unfulfilled.