Why do people think drawing is so special?

I draw a lot, but it comes naturally to me ofcourse i had to train it, but it took me a few hours to really perfect my skills, i can also live sketch someone or draw without a reference. I dont think its anything special, at all.. not even a talent. But when people tell me like wooooow you can draw, amazing, draw me and stuff like that... im like... ok its not like i can sing. I am nothing special. And people also think your automatically smart? hahaha far from it. Whats up with people thinking it special?

0|1
14|20

Most Helpful Guy

• lol I destroyed the other kids in art class when I was in school, even in high school. I usually helped classmates years ago when I studied administration, to make designs for marketing courses. To this day, just very recently, a group of classmates asked me to help them draw for them, for an anatomy class practice.

As someone else said, some people just don't have the ability and often not even the interest in learning how to draw. So yeah, it's quite something to have random gifts such as this one.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• You're right it is a developed skill that begins as an ability and interest in artistic endeavors. Many people are impressed because they cannot draw a stick man. There is a direct correlation between proficiency in the arts and intellegence so don't down grade yourself in the brains department.

I draw, sketch and have begun water color painting. Water color is a medium which will humble you from the beginning, from my understanding it is one of the most difficult painting mediums to master. There are people who have spent a lifetime learning to paint water color and feel like their own work is just OK. I love it though because it challenges me to learn new techniques and skills with each piece I attempt.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 19

• If I want to draw a straight line, I need a pencil, a straightedge and three attempts.