How do I tell my significant other that I dropped out of high school?

During high school I was facing extremely difficult circumstances and I ended up dropping out. (I don't have a child or anything) Anyways, I kept this a secret from everyone and moved onto community college. I am now at a university in the National Honors program. However, my significant other and friend of seven years does not know that I never completed high school. I am nervous about telling the truth, even though I am a successful college student now with a promising future. What do I do? Help.

1|0
9|17

Most Helpful Guy

• just tell him. you clearly overcame teh obstacles that led to you dropping out so he should actually be impressed with your resilience

at least that's how i'd see it. i'd think wow most high school drop outs are unable to be disciplined enough to continue their education against the difficult odds but

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• your past doesn t define you
    and you got your shit together.
    honesty is a must in my opinion.

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 16

• sounds like you are doing fine, I'd just tell him. Unless there is some drawback to it, there is not a big deal.

0|0
    0|0
  • How to tell him? just tell him directly, be straightforward about it.

0|0
    0|0
  • But how did you enroll in college without completing high school?

Anyway, it's a part of your past now, no reason to deny or avoid it.

0|0
    0|0
    • Community college accepts a ged

• "I didn't finish high school"

0|0
    0|0
  • Just tell him and if it's something that is bothering you then you can take classes to get a GED.

0|0
    0|0
  • Lol well you must of gotten a GED or something to get into college?
    Dont matter. Thats not a huge secret. Your in the National Honor society now!

0|0
    0|0