Advice for a social dweeb?

so my whole life has been pretty isolated. I go to an all boys catholic high school, and my parents forbid me to have a social life. however, this summer I'm leaving home and going to study at Cambridge University. I'm really excited, my major is Creative Writing and I LOVE writing poetry and stories its going to be a blast.

the thing is I want to be a more social person (as in maybe have a relationship). I'm really shy but not a bad person. I'm short (5'8'') and am really thin (130lbs). but all of that weight is in muscle because I've been doing martial arts since I was 7 (I'm 16) and am a starting attackman on my schools varsity lacrosse team. we went 14-3 this year so we're pretty decent. I am ridiculously polite, like freaky prep school polite. everyone says I have a great smile which makes me feel great (god I hope that its true.). I have a picture on my profile if you want a better idea.

anyways, any advice about how to meet people? make them feel comfortable? talk to without sounding insecure or arrogant?

thanks so much!

0|0
2|2

Most Helpful Guy

• I don't know what you're so afraid of! In high school I weighed a whopping 136 lbs at 5'7". I was very self-conscious too I thought I was too skinny and girls wouldn't like me because I wasn't muscular like other guys but I had no issue with dating. What did I do to remedy my self-esteem? I started working out, I wouldn't recommend it at your age, but just keep active and eat healthy and you should be fine, girls find lean muscle sexy.

My advice would just be to be yourself, as corny as that sounds. People can normally tell when you're being fake and it's somewhat insulting. There's nothing wrong with being polite, I'm polite also, very polite trust me that will help you when you're older. Try not to be overly polite though, not to the point of allowing others to take advantage of you.