Self harm scars a deal breaker?

I'm a 17 year old girl, going to be a senior in high school. My freshman year I was diagnosed with depression, which led me to self harm into my sophomore year. I eventually told my parents and stopped self harming, was put on medications, and started therapy. I'm now 99% recovered but am left with scars on my upper thighs. There are about five that are about an inch long and noticeable with lots of other smaller ones that can hardly be seen. You can only see them when I'm wearing short shorts and a swimsuit. I'm scared I will never be able to get a boyfriend or people will think of me negatively even though I'm emotionally healed. What would you think of someone who has scars? Would you ever date a girl with self harm scars?

0|0
4|5

Most Helpful Guy

• I ain't got no problem with them at all. To be completely honest I have them too. I am 17 also going to be a senior and was diagnosed with clinical depression and anxiety when I was a sophomore/freshman. I have had those scars since then and have wondered the same thing but no one dares to ask or say anything about it whether good or bad it doesn't bother me. I always end up crying when I talk about my depression. But I wouldn't worry about it at all, it's just a thing that happens to people and if the guy you are looking for doesn't like it or judges you for them then he is not a good enough guy for you. You deserve someone amazing. I hope I could help. And by the way, if you ever want to message me or anything about life or depression or school/whatever I'm always free.

2|0
    0|0
    • Thank you so much for this. It really helps knowing there's others going through the same exact thing. And I will do! I hope you too have found recovery or are at least working on it and always know there's people out there for you

• Show All
    • That's really good to hear, I will be praying for you as well:)

Most Helpful Girl