Would You Be In A Relationship Someone With A Mental Disorder?

If you knew from the beginning that someone had a mental disorder, would you want to be with them? And I mean beyond depression. Ex:

-Bi-Polar/Manic Depression
-Borderline Personality Disorder
-Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
-Schizophrenia
-Autism
-Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Why or why not?

• Yes, If They're A Good Person and Compatible
    46% (11)46% (11)46% (22)Vote
  • Yes, But Only Certain ones (Comment)
    25% (6)25% (6)25% (12)Vote
  • Uh, No, I'm All Good On That
    21% (5)21% (5)21% (10)Vote
  • Other
    8% (2)8% (2)8% (4)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
12|12

Most Helpful Guy

• Depends on the kind and severety.
    PTSD i'd probably be completely fine with, ill be there when she needs me to calm her down, and as a tech agent i am understanding enough that any verbal abuse directed towards me are in the moment and not actually ment.

Autism, i had autistic friends before and they where generally great people. They just sometimes need some help understanding the situation but other then that it doesn't hinder anything at all.

Schizophrenia, have never met someone who has it so can't judge. But if i read the wikipedia article it would probably not be something i'd be able to deal with.

Borderline Personality Disorder, probably not. Unless very minor. I can be understanding of the typical mood swings everyone has. But i don't want to be in a constant "I FUCKING HATE YOU But... your so cute <3" situation.

OCD, Depends on the obsession and the severity.

0|0
    0|0
    • Bi-Polar/Manic Depression, i'd probably be able to deal with this depending on the severity. I'd act as a protector role to keep her safe from herself while still enjoying everything else of a normal loving relationship.

Most Helpful Girl

• Ha, I'm the one with the disorder

2|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 11