Should I be cautious about people who do not use proper grammar and spelling in online dating websites?

I don't know if it's just me or if this is just the norm of texting nowadays, but I can never seem to receive messages that are written with proper grammar and spelling by users, in online dating websites. Yet, these are people who claim to be professional, college-educated people such as cops, teachers, even graduate students. I'm a college student myself and I know that none of these people would have ever been able to graduate if they wrote like that in their assignments or e-mails to their professors. Should I take this as a red flag and assume that these are just fake people? Thanks.

0|0
7|3

Most Helpful Guy

• no wats rong with dat? Lol, I wouldn't necessarily think that they were lying if they had poor grammar/spelling, but it's definitely a major turn off. It was acceptable back when phones weren't easy for texting but now it's easy so there's not really any excuse. It really depends on the person too, it's usually easier to gauge their intelligence just by talking to someone, some people.. myself included deliberately don't use proper grammar or spelling when messaging.. Don't ask me why.

1|0
    1|0
    • I get that, but these are people who claim to be cops, teachers, etc... and can't even tell the difference between you're/your or there/they're/and their. smh.

• True, it depends what you're on. I mean some of these things could be scams coming from backward countries where they pretend to be someone in hopes you'll send them money. You're right in that regard. Best to ignore anyone who is illiterate!

• It's from match. com where you'd think that they're being legitimate because they pay for a subscription. But, now I'm not so sure...

Most Helpful Girl